Skip to content

Going International

March 23, 2010
by

I’m no post office expert.  Lately with all my parties going on I have had to mail out quite a few invitations–or at least lots more than I normally would.

Last night I came upon my first international address that I needed to ship an invitation to. 

I’m going to say again that I’m not an expert, but here’s my plans for handling this little conundrum:

1. Verify the mailing address structure.  –I did this by googling “(insert country name) mailing address”.  Google then confirmed that I had what I needed (a p.o. box, a town/city, and an island name for this particular piece)

2. Go to the USPS website and calculate the postage.  The reason I suggest this is who wants to waste postage if they don’t have to? 

3. Mail it.  You can either trust your postage calculations (read: gamble a bit) or take your envelope to the post office and have it weighed and mail it while you’re there–after you affix proper postage that is.

4. Cross your fingers that your piece of mail doesn’t fall off the boat on the way there.

It’s not an overly complex process if you ask me, but it’s still a few steps outside of a forever stamp and a trip to the mailbox. 

Have you ever mailed an item to a foreign country??  What was your experience?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

