Skip to content

I Procrastinate.

April 13, 2010
by

It’s true.  I did so well at procrastinating last night that I forgot to take pictures of what I was going to post about today, so instead you get a lesson.

Last night I procrastinated doing my homework by printing out some invitations for Beezer (she’ll be posting about them in the future!!!  Get excited cause they ROCK!). 

I started working on printing these invitations over the weekend.  Initially I cut the paper to the dimensions we planned to use (5″x7″) and shoved the paper into my printer and pressed print.  Out came the ugliest print job on the planet.

It had a border that I’d never put on there.  The text wasn’t clear.  It just wasn’t working.

So, I made a template in word.  This template is high tech, let me tell ya.  It is composed of four vertical lines and 2 horizontal lines that are strategically placed and count as cutting guides. 

I placed the lines so that they would make exactly two 5″x7″ invitations per sheet of 8.5″x11″ paper (ahem, 92 lb cotton beautifulness if you’re wondering). 

Then I added in the images that Emily sent me and made the edges “bleed” over the lines just a bit so that I wouldn’t have black lines left on the invitations themselves after printing. 

This method worked so well that after the first one I had to tell Emily all about it.  My printer liked me better, I liked the outcome better, and my husband even said they looked pretty.

So, in the event that you’re trying to print something that is 5″x7″ and you want it to take up the entire page (no border or white space left after printing), set up a template in your word processing program so that you have cutting guides and print to your heart’s content.

I wish I had pictures to show you of the before and after, BUT that’s for Emily to post!!  After she posts the invites, I will post a little tutorial complete with pictures so you can see what my little template looks like!

Until tomorrow!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

