Skip to content

Gettin’ Down To Business

April 21, 2010
by

Ok, so yesterday I had a serious case of writer’s blogger’s block.  And then as soon as I get to typing this up, I click the wrong button.  Blog fail!!

So, if you clicked to read this post before it was finished, I apologize and I hope you come back to finish reading it.

What I plan on talking about today is business.

Some of you might know that I have a business degree–almost two.  In fact, I have a degree in starting and running businesses. 

So, I’m sort of an expert in the field of entrepreneurship (if you count education as making someone an expert).  Emily and I have yet to really see this business to fruition as far as financial viability goes, but we have the potential to get there.

At that point Emily and I will be considered business partners with shared interest in the company. 

Partnerships can be sticky.  In my professional opinion, you should never enter into a partnership.  At least not if you plan on coming out in the black and not filing bankruptcy and losing a friend in the process.

So why am I being hypocritical and falling into a partnership with Emily?

Because I know her character.  I know her moral values and her moral ideals.  I also know that this business is pretty casual to the both of us and while we don’t intend to be millionaires in the making, we do intend to eventually generate some income.  At that time Emily and I will have to agree on our contributions and our returns from the business as well as make other decisions that are relative to what the future of our business and our personal lives require.

I believe that so long as Emily and I are honest with one another about our expectations and ideals, we’ll make it out unscathed. 

Emily and I have been friends for many, many years and agree that a business will not end that friendship.  Yeah, that sounds idealistic, but I have faith that we’ll uphold that.

So, in the event that you enter a partnership (which you shouldn’t), make sure your ducks are in a row.  Establish a contract, know your partner’s character inside and out, secure a back-up plan, and be willing to lose everything.

In the future I’ll share more business topics (and personal opinions), so stay tuned for that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

